National Race Masters Blog

Back to Blog Home…

Submitted by Jim Hurley on Wednesday, May 8, 2013 at 12:00 AM

Preakness Stakes: Titletown Five joins probables; Bellarmine withdrawn from consideration

As of Tuesday, the prospective Preakness field was holding steady at 12 3-year-olds following one addition and one subtraction.

Maryland Jockey Club officials reported early Tuesday that trainer D. Wayne Lukas will run Titletown Five in the Preakness, a fact later confirmed by David Miller, a co-owner of the colt. That gives Lukas a third Preakness runner, along with Oxbow and Will Take Charge.

Within minutes of the Titletown Five announcement, trainer Ken McPeek said via Twitter that he was withdrawing Bellarmine from consideration for the Preakness.

Titletown Five, owned by a group that includes football legend Paul Hornung, most recently was fourth in the April 27 Derby Trial at Churchill. The Tiznow colt breezed a half-mile Tuesday morning at Churchill in 47.60 seconds.

Also, trainer Tom Amoss said Tuesday afternoon that after consultation with the owners of Mylute, there will be no firm decision about whether to run in the Preakness until after the gray colt trains Saturday morning at Churchill. Mylute, owned by GoldMark Farm and Whisper Hill Farm, finished fifth in the Derby, beaten just two heads for third by Revolutionary and Normandy Invasion.

In alphabetical order, these are the 12 known Preakness hopefuls: Departing, Goldencents, Govenor Charlie, Itsmyluckyday, Mylute, Normandy Invasion, Orb, Oxbow, Street Spice, Titletown Five, Vyjack, and Will Take Charge.

Probable starters for the 2013 Preakness Stakes

Horse Trainer Jockey Last race/finish
Departing Al Stall Jr. Brian Hernandez Jr. Illinois Derby, 1st
Goldencents Doug O’Neill Kevin Krigger Kentucky Derby, 17th
Govenor Charlie Bob Baffert Martin Garcia Sunland Derby, 1st
Itsmyluckyday Eddie Plesa Jr. John Velazquez Kentucky Derby, 15th
Mylute Tom Amoss Rosie Napravnik Kentucky Derby, 5th
Normandy Invasion Chad Brown Javier Castellano Kentucky Derby, 4th
Orb Shug McGaughey Joel Rosario Kentucky Derby, 1st
Oxbow D. Wayne Lukas Gary Stevens Kentucky Derby, 6th
Street Spice Greg Geier Jeffrey Sanchez Illinois Derby, 5th
Titletown Five D. Wayne Lukas TBA Derby Trial, 4th
Vyjack Rudy Rodriguez Garrett Gomez Kentucky Derby, 18th
Will Take Charge D. Wayne Lukas Jon Court Kentucky Derby, 8th

Join the discussion


Forgot password

Keep me logged in