National Race Masters Blog

Back to Blog Home…

Submitted by Gasper Moschera on Saturday, January 11, 2014 at 12:00 AM

Team Zenyatta to receive special Eclipse Award

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters today announced that Team Zenyatta—the individuals who helped the 6-year-old mare become one of the most recognizable sports stars of 2010—will be honored with the Special Eclipse Award at the 40th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony on Monday, January 17 at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach, in Miami Beach, Fla.

The Special Award honors extraordinary service, individual achievements in, or contributions to the sport of Thoroughbred racing.

Team Zenyatta is led by owners Jerry and Ann Moss; trainer John Shirreffs; jockey Mike Smith; racing manager Dottie Ingordo-Shirreffs; exercise rider Steve Willard; groom Mario Espinoza, hotwalker Carmen Zamona and assistant trainer Michelle Jensen. 

In 2010, Zenyatta moved Thoroughbred racing off the racing pages and into the mainstream and social media spheres.

The year began with the unexpected decision by owners Jerry and Ann Moss to bring the undefeated Zenyatta out of a brief retirement following her dramatic victory in the 2009 Breeders’ Cup Classic. Zenyatta continued that unbeaten streak in 2010 by winning her first five races of the season, all grade I stakes, at Santa Anita Park, Oaklawn Park, Hollywood Park and Del Mar. She delighted fans with her signature dance in the paddock before each race and with her electrifying finishes. As the year progressed, Zenyatta’s popularity grew into a cultural phenomenon. More than 60,000 fans attended the Apple Blossom Stakes at Oaklawn in April, and her Facebook had more than 58,000 “friends”.

During the course of the season, trainer John Shirreffs offered extraordinary access to racing fans around the country who wanted to get close to Zenyatta at her barn and pose for pictures with her.  At Churchill Downs in Louisville, crowds lined up along the barn area fence line to say good-bye to her on the day following the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

Throughout 2010, the star power of Zenyatta transcended Thoroughbred racing. She was selected to Oprah Winfrey’s “O Power List” as one of the 20 most influential women of 2010. She was also featured in a photo spread in W Magazine. On October 31, more than 10 million viewers tuned in to CBS’s “60 Minutes” to watch a feature on Zenyatta and her amazing popularity.

Zenyatta’s participation in the Breeders’ Cup Classic helped to nearly triple the national ratings for the ESPN telecast compared to 2009 levels. The telecast was also the highest rated Breeders’ Cup since 1992. Her near miss against Blame in the Classic was repeatedly cited as one of the greatest moments in sports during 2010. Zenyatta finished second in The Associated Press’s 2010 Female Athlete of the Year balloting behind only Olympic gold medal winning skier Lindsey Vonn. In 2009, Zenyatta also finished second in the same ranking, behind tennis star Serena Williams. 

The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Join the discussion


Forgot password

Keep me logged in